June 2017

Jul. 1st, 2017 02:54 pm
muninnhuginn: (Default)
Read:
====
Shorts:
- Artist of Love by JT Gill (https://everydayfiction.com/artist-of-love-by-jt-gill/)
- The Promise you Brought by Paul Alex Gray (https://everydayfiction.com/the-promise-you-brought-by-paul-alex-gray/)
- All Miracles Fifty Percent Off by Addison Smith (DSF)
- THE ONCE BLUE HORIZON by JOACHIM HEIJNDERMANS (https://everydayfiction.com/the-once-blue-horizon-by-joachim-heijndermans/)
- EYEBLINK IN BENGHAZI by CARL STEIGER (https://everydayfiction.com/eyeblink-in-benghazi-by-carl-steiger/)
- Wendy, Darling by A.C. Wise (DSF)
- New Year's Resolutions 2087 by Mark Cowling (DSF)
- STAGE IIB: ANGER by SHELLEY BERG (https://everydayfiction.com/stage-iib-anger-by-shelley-berg/)
- The Blue Unicorn by Bruce McAllister (DSF)
- Velveteen Rose by Claire Simon (https://digitalculturist.com/velveteen-rose-84a61ec8c8ee)
- Silenced by Melissa Mead (DSF)
- Uber by Sean Williams (DSF)
- Analog Signals by Shawn Proctor (DSF)
- Dragon Lady by S1imon Barker (https://everydayfiction.com/dragon-lady-by-simon-barker/)
- Radio Waves by Icy Sedgwick
- The Undertakerby Sarah Martin (http://www.nycmidnight.com/Competitions/SSC/Stories/TheUndertaker.htm)
- Mad Lib by Sean Vivier (DSF)

Novels:
not a one this month

Non-fiction:
- ‘Kill them, kill them, kill them’: the volunteer army plotting to wipe out Britain’s grey squirrels by Patrick Barkham (https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2017/jun/02/kill-them-the-volunteer-army-plotting-to-wipe-out-britains-grey-squirrels)
- 'They were entwined': the twins found at Dover's white cliffs by Jenny Kleeman (https://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2017/jun/10/they-were-entwined-the-twins-found-at-dovers-white-cliffs)
- The Long, Lonely Road of Chelsea Manning by Matthew Shaer (https://www.nytimes.com/2017/06/12/magazine/the-long-lonely-road-of-chelsea-manning.html)

May 2017

Jun. 1st, 2017 01:47 pm
muninnhuginn: (Default)
Read:
Shorts:
- The Opposite of the Big Bang by Nathan J. Bezzina (DSF)
- Sexbot Sunday Jigsaw Puzzle by Leslie J. Anderson (DSF) -- didn't live up to its title :-(
- Clickbait for Paranormals: Six Amazing Secrets from a Ghost's Guide to Getting Ghouls by Sarina Dorie (DSF)
- Nothing Between the Stars by R.W.W. Greene (DSF)
- Sweetlings by Lucy Taylor (http://www.tor.com/2017/05/03/sweetlings/)
- The Simulacra by Lavie Tidhar (https://lavietidhar.wordpress.com/2017/05/08/the-simulacra/)
- Innsmouth Legacy: “The Litany of Earth” by Ruthanna Emrys (http://www.tor.com/2017/04/24/innsmouth-legacy-the-litany-of-earth/)
- The Librarian by Kat McNichol (https://everydayfiction.com/the-librarian-by-kat-mcnichol/)
- Fears Like Kafka by Chris Vander Kaay (https://everydayfiction.com/fears-like-kafka-by-chris-vander-kaay/)
- Snail Mail by Steven Fischer (DSF)

Novels:
- Bodies of Light by Sarah Moss (WBC May)

Non-fiction:
- The Multiverse As Muse by Jordana Cepelewicz (http://nautil.us/issue/48/chaos/the-multiverse-as-muse))
- Overwatch Incest 'Shipping Tests The Limits Of What's Permissible In Fandom by Gita Jackson (http://kotaku.com/overwatch-incest-shipping-tests-the-limits-of-whats-per-1795102769)
- Here's How Much Tesla's New Solar Roof Could Cost by Daniel DiClerico (http://www.consumerreports.org/roofing/heres-how-much-teslas-new-solar-roof-shingles-could-cost/)
- The 6 Most Surprising, Important Inventions From World War I by Simone M. Scully (http://nautil.us/blog/-the-6-most-surprising-important-inventions-from-world-war-i)
Visual and Statistical Thinking: Displays of Evidence for Making Decisions by Edward R. Tufte (https://www.edwardtufte.com/tufte/index)

Knit:
- It's Blue not Grey! hat

April 2017

May. 1st, 2017 11:05 am
muninnhuginn: (Default)
Read:
Shorts:
- Spring by Julia Robinson (https://everydayfiction.com/spring-by-julia-robinson/)
- All our Bodies in the glass by Rob Francis (https://everydayfiction.com/all-our-bodies-in-the-glass-by-rob-francis/)
- Angels at the Border by Ian Rennie (http://magazine.metaphorosis.com/story/2017/angels-at-the-border-ian-rennie/)
- Dancing in the Void by Kip Hanson (https://everydayfiction.com/dancing-in-the-void-by-kip-hanson/)
- Falling by Leanne A Styles (https://everydayfiction.com/falling-by-leanne-a-styles/)

Novels:
- The History Man by Malcolm Bradbury (K)
- The Moving Toyshop by Edmund Crispin (K)
- A Wizard of Earthsea by Ursula K LeGuin (K)

Non-fiction:
- We need to be more imaginative about modern marriage by Jeanette Winterson (https://www.theguardian.com/books/2017/apr/08/jeanette-winterson-marriage-monogamy-wedding)

Knit:
- a few hexipuffs
- spun, and plied, a little almost laceweight with the tiddly drop spindle

March 2016

Apr. 4th, 2017 10:08 pm
muninnhuginn: (alien kitty)
Read:
Shorts:
- Why we hear better when we shut our eyes by Kate Glahn (https://everydayfiction.com/why-we-hear-better-when-we-shut-our-eyes-by-kate-glahn/)
Novels:
- Burial Rites by Hannah Kent (WBC March)
- Hary Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J K Rowling
Non-fiction:
- Three days with The Dice Man: ‘I never wrote for money or fame' by Tanya Gold (https://www.theguardian.com/books/2017/mar/04/three-days-dice-man-never-wrote-money-fame-tanya-gold)
- Silkworms Spin Super-Silk after Eating Carbon Nanotubes and Graphene by Prachi Patel (https://www.scientificamerican.com/article/silkworms-spin-super-silk-after-eating-carbon-nanotubes-and-graphene/)
- George Saunders: what writers really do when they write (https://www.theguardian.com/books/2017/mar/04/what-writers-really-do-when-they-write)
"What a pleasure that is; to be, on the page, less of a dope than usual."
- Observation of a discrete time crystal by J. Zhang, P. W. Hess, A. Kyprianidis, P. Becker, A. Lee, J. Smith, G. Pagano, I.-D. Potirniche, A. C. Potter, A. Vishwanath, N. Y. Yao & C. Monroe (http://www.nature.com/nature/journal/v543/n7644/full/nature21413.html)
- Buffy the Vampire Slayer at 20: the thrilling, brilliant birth of TV as art by Lucy Mangan (https://www.theguardian.com/tv-and-radio/2017/mar/10/buffy-the-vampire-slayer-at-20-the-thrilling-brilliant-birth-of-tv-as-art)
- Buffy the Vampire Slayer was a feminist parable for everyone – including me by Anthony Stewart Head (https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2017/mar/10/20-buffy-vampire-slayer-feminist)
- Dystopian dreams: how feminist science fiction predicted the future by Naomi Alderman (https://www.theguardian.com/books/2017/mar/25/dystopian-dreams-how-feminist-science-fiction-predicted-the-future)
- Why You Feel the Urge to Jump, The science and philosophy of looking down from a high place. by Jessica Seigel (nautil.us/issue/46/balance/why-you-feel-the-urge-to-jump)
muninnhuginn: (alien kitty)
Read:
Shorts:
- Grandma Heloise by KT Wagner (DSF)
- All the Rarest Beasts on Earth by Rachael K. Jones (DSF)
- The Old Dispensation by Lavie Tidhar (http://www.tor.com/2017/02/08/the-old-dispensation/)
Novels:
- Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J K Rowling
- Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J K Rowling
Non-fiction:
- The Ashford Book of Carding by Jo Reeve
muninnhuginn: (alien kitty)
Read:
Shorts:
- Red Christmas by Lavie Tidhar (http://www.apex-magazine.com/red-christmas/)
- At the After School Program for Major Johnson Elementary School by David Macpherson (http://everydayfiction.com/at-the-after-school-program-for-major-johnson-elementary-school-by-david-macpherson/)
- Omnipotent Potions by Robert Anthony Smith (DSF)
- Kicked out of Dance Class by Kelly Castillo (http://everydayfiction.com/kicked-out-of-dance-class-by-kelly-castillo/)
- The Priest Hole by Icy Sedgwick
- The Virtual Swallows of Hog Island by Julianna Baggott (http://www.tor.com/2017/01/25/the-virtual-swallows-of-hog-island/)
- My Quantum Entanglement with a Schrodinger Cat by M. J. Pettit (DSF)
Novels:
- Black Skies by Arnaldur Indridason (WC-Jan)
- Versions of Us by Laura Barnett (K)
- The Last Chronicle of Barset by Anthony Trollope (PG)
- Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen (PG)
- Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone by J K Rowling
- Babette's Feat by Isak Dinesen (K)
- Persuasion by Jane Austen (PG)
Non-fiction:
- One Skeptical Scientist's Mindfulness Journey by Scott Barry Kaufman (https://blogs.scientificamerican.com/beautiful-minds/my-mindfulness-journey/)
- I wore men’s clothes for a month – and it changed my life by Lucy Rycroft-Smith (https://www.thefword.org.uk/2017/01/i-wore-mens-clothes-for-a-month-and-it-changed-my-life/)
- Elizabeth Zimmermann's Knitter's Almanac: The Commemorative Edition (K)
- The Whole Craft of Spinning by Carol Kroll
Knit:
- not a lot, waiting for eczema on left hand to calm down

Profile

muninnhuginn: (Default)
muninnhuginn

July 2017

S M T W T F S
       1
2345678
910111213 1415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Jul. 28th, 2017 08:40 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios